7 comments on “What are tokens?

  1. I love how you describe tokens. Thank you so much for blogging. I have learned so much from you and others who blog. Now, perhaps I can use this information when advocating for my young adult ASD daughter. There are no words to describe my appreciation.

    • I’ve learned a lot from other bloggers too. It’s always great to hear that someone is using this info for advocacy. Thank you for your comment!

  2. This is a VERY similar concept to the spoon theory used to describe auto-immune diseases. I can see how it would apply here too.

  3. The Regional Intervention Program had a video that talked about chips in a similar way-but described the kid as a passive participant, given or robbed of chips. Your idea makes it clear how hard your (my) kid tries every day, and why some days things go wrong. Every teacher should read this.

    • The chips system you describe sounds like token economy, which is a different thing, a method of discipline imposed by others. I agree that every teacher should understand token theory the way Karla taught it to me, and you are free to share this if you like.

  4. Just came across your blog – brilliant – love the token description idea. Have learned so much form reading blogs, was thinking of bloging myself, but think there are so any others out there who have a clue ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

Talk to me.